Sunday, April 11

TikTok now asks you to reconsider your shared video

Be careful what you share! This is TikTok’s new message to its users. The platform has decided to notify when the content of a video seems suspicious and carries potentially erroneous information.

TikTok gives itself all the cards to purify its platform as much as possible and rid it of all malicious behavior.

After having better framed the use made by its youngest users, given the possibility of limiting the comments posted or of being notified if a comment published seemed inappropriate, the social network is stepping up its fight against disinformation through videos.

Video verification bodies

In its desire to prevent before sanctioning, TikTok continues to be benevolent towards its millions of users. Now, it is to make them aware of the value of the information they share and the risks of spreading deceit.

The network therefore works with third-party fact-checking organizations, including AFP, to assess the reliability of shared content. Any content judged to be erroneous or misleading by the experts will be immediately removed.

But it is not always possible to come to a definitive conclusion during the verification, especially during current events. TikTok will then decide to consider the video as “ineligible” and to exclude it from the recommendations to users in the “For you” section in order to avoid the spread of false information. ” We have decided to step up our efforts and notify our users when we identify a video with unsubstantiated content to prevent it from being shared.“, Explains the platform.

A message to warn of suspicious videos

To better identify these suspicious content, TikTok will give them a notification. A message will appear on the video to report that this content is ” not verified“. The creator of the video, meanwhile, will receive a message informing them that their video has been flagged for unsubstantiated content.

If a suspicious video is shared, the user will in turn receive a message to remind him that his sharing is subject to questioning and to know if he still wants to share his post. One way, according to TikTok, to make people think about the scope of such an important gesture on the social network and the consequences that it could have. And the first feedback during the testing phase was encouraging: the sharing of this type of video decreased by 24% and the number of “likes” by 7%.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *