How to clear WhatsApp photos and videos to free up space?



WhatsApp is the most popular end-to-end encrypted messaging app in the world. However, while other people can’t snoop on what you’re saying, that doesn’t mean other WhatsApp data can’t be observed.

By far the biggest WhatsApp data storage element is the pile of photos, videos and gifs that can fill up your phone’s storage. In addition to filling up your phone’s memory, saved photos can be a privacy nightmare.

In short, WhatsApp automatically downloads new photos and videos that are sent to you. These are stored on your phone, but can also be saved to your camera roll. An updated version of WhatsApp now gives you more control over what media is stored on your phone.

If the available storage space is very low on your device, WhatsApp may start to crash. If this occurs, WhatsApp may display a warning for you to free up space to continue using the app. In order to free up space on your device, as well as preserve your privacy, check below how to clear WhatsApp files.

view storage

  1. And aba conversations, tap the 3 dots located at the top of the screen;
  2. Then tap Settings;
  3. After that, tap Storage and data;
  4. After that, click manage storage.

At the top of the screen, you can see the space used on your device by WhatsApp media files e Apps and other items.

Analyze and delete items

In short, you can delete large items or items that have been forwarded multiple times to free up storage space. In addition, you can also delete special conversation items. Below, check out how to analyze, and delete items.

analyze items

  1. And aba conversations, tap the 3 dots located at the top of the screen;
  2. Then tap Settings;
  3. After that, tap Storage and data;
  4. After that, click Manage storage;
  5. Then tap “Sent many times”, Larger than 5 MB or select a specific conversation;
  6. You can even tap the icon in the upper right corner to sort the items by Last, Older Where Larger.

In short, the item size is displayed in the upper left corner of each item. By tapping an item, you can review it. That is, see in which conversation and date the item was sent: tap More options, and soon after in show in conversation.

delete items

If you wish, you can delete an item. That way, it will disappear from your WhatsApp and your mobile. But beware: If you have multiple copies of an item, you need to delete all copies to free up space.

  1. And aba conversations, tap the 3 dots located at the top of the screen;
  2. Then tap Settings;
  3. After that, tap Storage and data;
  4. After that, click Manage storage;
  5. Then tap “Sent many times”, Larger than 5 MB or select a specific conversation.
  6. On this screen, you can:
  • delete all items: To do this, tap Select all.
  • Delete one item at a time: If you want to delete one item at a time, touch and hold the item you want to delete. And if you want, you can select more than one item at a time to delete. By clicking on To switch off, WhatsApp may ask if you want to delete copies of the same item. This way, you will delete any and all versions of that item. On the other hand, if you uncheck this option, you will only delete the repeated images, leaving the “original” stored.

Search and delete items

You can also delete specific items through the search feature. For this:

  1. And aba conversations, tap the magnifying glass to search;
  2. Then tap Photos, videos Where Documents;
  3. After that, tap on the item you want to delete;
  4. touch us 3 dots in the top corner, and after that, in to switch off.

How not to save WhatsApp photos on your phone

By default, on both Android and iOS, WhatsApp will automatically download and save images to your phone. The platform does this so that it can provide “quick access to your latest photos”. However, this can be a problem for your device, which can clog it with media.

Aware of this, WhatsApp has a solution to this problem: It allows not to automatically save media, as well as not giving media visibility.

To not give media visibility

  1. And aba conversations, tap the 3 dots located at the top of the screen;
  2. Then tap Settings;
  3. After that, tap conversations;
  4. Soon after, in conversation settings, disable Media visibility.

To not automatically download the media

  1. And aba conversations, tap the 3 dots located at the top of the screen;
  2. Then tap Settings;
  3. After that, tap Storage and data;
  4. No item automatic media download, you can cancel your device from downloading photos, videos, gifs and files automatically. To do this, disable the media download options When using mobile data; When using Wi-Fi; and Roaming.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.